Saccharomyces cerevisiae: A Wort’s Best Friend

The past few weeks have become increasingly more busy with school as our assignments are all coming due; but fear not, I still have found time to relax with friends, toss a Frisbee around, have a pint from time to time and even reflect on the program thus far.

ImageLast week after class, a few classmates and I headed to a small start-up brewery called Alechemy for a tour and a beer tasting. What struck me, besides how delicious their beer is for only being open a few months, was how I left feeling confident that with the education I am receiving along with a lot of hard work and determination this crazy dream of opening a brewery feels within reach.

Image

 

Besides this program turning out to be better than I anticipated, except for Thermodynamics…ugh, it has been amazing to meet so many other talented and passionate classmates.  It’s been fantastic to talk about brewing, make beer together and get a fresh worldview from so many different people.

ImageAs the end of the semester draws near, I am definitely excited to finish up and head back to the States to visit my family, friends, special lady and my pup, but I’m already looking forward to starting a whole new set of classes and seeing what next semester will bring!

On a side note, I’d be remiss if I didn’t take a moment to say how happy I am that Obama has 4 more years in the White House, and how proud I am of the citizens of my home state Minnesota for voting down referendums trying to ban same sex marriage and requiring voter id. Last Tuesday was quite a night in American politics, and a real win for civil rights all around the country.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

